head img  
NTU Taiwan University img


The NTU Trio Awarded NAE membership-Dr. Burn-jeng Lin, Dr. Mao-chung Chang, and Dr. Lee-lueng Fu Are to be Congratulated for Their Accomplishments in Engineering!

NTU alumni won international recognitions again!! Three graduates of NTU were recently elected members of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. They are; Dr. Burn-jeng Lin, who currently works at the Taiwan Semiconductors Manufacturing Company, Dr. Mau-chung Chang and Dr. Lee-lueng Fu, who reside in Southern California with professional involvements in technology, engineering and education.

Dr. Burn-jeng Lin graduated from NTU's Department of Electrical Engineering in 1963. After his graduation, he went to the Ohio State University in the U.S., where he earned his master's degree and doctorate in Electrical Engineering. Dr. Lin once served as the Manager for Research and Development at IBM, and is now employed as Senior Director of Nanopattering Technology at TSMC. He also teaches part time at the Department of Electrical Engineering at NTU.

Dr. Burn-jeng Lin specializes in the semiconductor manufacturing process technology. In 2002 he invented "im-mersion lithography", which was considered a great innovation for the global semiconductor manufacturing business. He discovered that if water was added to a 193 nanometer machine as a medium, shorter wavelengths can be drawn. This finding allowed TSMC to use the world's first 193 nm "im-mersion lithography' machine in November 2004, and made significant contributions to the global semiconductor industry and TSMC in the advanced production process of semiconductors under 65 nm.

With his remarkable research achievement, Dr. Lin has won many distinguished honors from abroad. Besides the NAE membership, he was also an IEEE fellow and SPIE fellow. He was one of the ten most outstanding engineers of Taiwan, and the recipient of the Innovation Award from TSMC.

Dr. Mao-chung Chang graduated from NTU's Department of Physics in 1972. He is now teaching at the Department of Electrical Engineering of UCLA. His research concentrated on the development of super high speed HBT integrated circuits, and he received affirmation and recognition from the Electrical Engineering circles due to his design of the fastest oscillator. In addition to the NAE, his outstanding research achievements also won him a fellowship in IEEE. His research achievements mainly involved with the development of high speed semiconductors and the applications of sensor systems. Dr. Chang has won many international honors and awards, including winning IEEE fellowship in 1996 with "ultra-high speed HBT integrated circuit development", and winning the David Sarnoff award from IEEE again in 2006.

Dr. Lee-lueng Fu graduated from NTU's Department of Physics in 1972. He now works as senior special project scientist at NASA's jet propulsion laboratory in California. He was elected member of NAE for his contributions to the development of satellite altimetry and applications in oceanography and geodesy. His major research focuses on the study of the dynamics of ocean waves and tidal currents, and the scope of his research ranges from the study of the internal gravity of ocean waves to the study of the cycling of tidal currents.

The National Academy of Engineering, along with the National Academy of Sciences, and the Institute of Medicine, form the national academy of the United States. Each year, through an internal review system, these academies selects candidates who have made outstanding achievements and extraordinary contributions in education, research, technological developments technological applications to become new members. Membership in these academies usually represents the highest professional honor accorded to scientists, engineers, and doctors. At present the National Academy of Engineering has 2227 members and 194 foreign associates.

Dr.Mau-chung Chang's website:http://www.ee.ucla.edu/faculty-chang.htm
Dr. Lee Lueng Fu's website:http://eospso.gsfc.nasa.gov/directory/eospso_members/l_fu.php
NAE's website:http://www.nae.edu/nae/naehome.nsf?OpenDatabase

  Copyright 2008 NTU Secretariat

Chinese version